15 May
Tórshavn (capital)
150 - 350 DKK

Spring concert with the Faroe Islands Symphony Orchestra

Three composers Milhaud, Stravinsky and Schubert

After a year of streaming, television recordings and with no or very little audience, we look forward to playing for you again.

The orchestra presents three composers in a class of their own and three works consisting of different forms and has varied orchestral ensembles.

The Creation of the World – Darius Milhaud

Darius Milhaud was very interested in jazz music. He traveled to the United States to experience the genre up close. In Harlem he hung out with the jazz musicians and got a good knowledge of jazz music.

After returning home in 2022, the French composer wrote the ballet La Création du monde for a libretto by Blaise Cendrars. The adult listener will recognize elements from jazz in terms of rhythm, tone selection and ensemble.

Pulcinella Suite – Igor Stravinsky

The ballet Pulcinella was written for Les Ballets Russes, and precisely this ballet was the starting shot for completely new methods of composition.

Stravinsky himself said that “Pulcinella was his revelation of the past, and formed the breeding ground for his further compositional work”.

The unfinished – Franz Schubert

The imperfect is traditionally nicknamed the Symphony in B minor D. The work was composed in 1822 and premiered in
1865, 37 years after the composer’s death.
Several of Schubert’s works (including symphonies) are incomplete or can only be found in sketches. For unknown reasons, Schubert’s work interrupted some beats inside the third movement of the B minor symphony. The Unfinished became from the outset one of the composer’s most popular orchestral works.

Conductor: Bernhardur Wilkinson
The concert lasts for 75 minutes and there is no break.


Nordic House - Norðurlandahúsið

Norðari Ringvegur
100 Tórshavn
Tórshavn (capital)


15 May 19:30


Normal 350 DKK

Student/youth 150 DKK